modeling a stadium

I’m new to Blender… (and I mean fresh new). I’ve pretty much got the whole interface “holy crap” past me, now I need to start modeling. I’ve always wanted to model a football (soccer) stadium. Anyone got any tips on where should I start? Is it too tough a project for an amateur?

yeahhhh i think it’s pretty cool as a project for you …coz there’s no more complex shapes etc …so i think it’s good …first you google it and find some pics and creat a rough idea…then you can build up …any further help contact me …me also a noob though :wink:

it depends on how detailed you want go about it, It doesn’t seem to hard, but I don’t know exactly. You should look into the array modifer,

I’ve done a stadium before, it really does depend on how detailed you want to go as to how hard it is, but as long as you go with a stadium style that isn’t to complicated it shouldn’t be all that hard. one word of advice, think about scale right from the start, always have some reference of scale nearby. What worked quite well for me was to make a box that was the height of a person and then just dragged that around as I worked so as to keep me from making something wrong. (I choose to say that 0.10 blender units equaled 1 foot, and did all measurements in feet only, but particular ratio is arbitrary, most people seem to use meters.) as long as I’m giving advice, try to get some kind of blueprints for the stadium, even if you have to make it yourself, again, the biggest problem I had was with scales being off, and the best time to fix that is at the very beginning.

oh, and welcome to BA! Good luck, and happy Blendering!
ATS

Thanks a lot guys… let’s see how it turns out.