Modeling Gauntlet for 3D print

Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum and I am a newbie for Blender as well.
Currently I am trying to model a gauntlet so I can print it with 3D printer for hobby.

I am currently seeking advise of how to create an object like below with better efficiency.

I have created a sample with “Bezier Curve + Spin” similar to “how to create a wine glass tutorial” I found online.
But I got problem with modifying the shape of the model more smoothly.

I drag the vertices that I want to modify but it doesn’t change the shape of the model smoothly like a curve.
Also it is hard to determine which vertices to be selected when I want to reform the model to have a different curve.

Would any one please point a direction for me, what tools or function I could use to make this modification more efficient, accurate and with smooth edges?

Thank you.

Attachments

armor - 03-2.blend (911 KB)

Since you worked out the general form of gauntlet, you can use it to layout final form by using re-topology. Just hand lay mesh pattern by hand. Using mirror modifier and keep it simple and smooth it out with subsurface modifier.

I’d suggest start from default cylinder, add some loopcuts and use Proportional edit Scale on edge loops to get initial shape. Then Bisect or knife cut through the bigger diameter end and delete part.
To further adjust shape use copy of the object which you Shrinkwrap onto the original and again use Proportional edit this time on selected vertices.
http://www.pasteall.org/blend/36317

Thanks a bunch to Ridix and Eppo.

After I got some direction from you guys I have created some like this now, which is much closer to my intended object.

Now I got another question where I want to put emblem on the Gauntlet, but having hard time to seek for a best way again.