Modeling help

Okay, I just want to know what the general approach for modeling a coin would be. Would you make a thin cylinder and just use texture/bump/alpha maps to do the rest, or would you actually model the details into the coin?

I’m a very basic beginner and trying to look for somewhere to start, just wondering how I should go about this… also, I have no experience in texturing or bump/alpha mapping, so, I’d have to go learn all of it. Anyway, thank you!

The entire thing could be bump mapped. However the ridged edges would look flat at certain angles, so you might want to model the edges and map the faces.

agreed, mapping the faces is a much better way, save your self a LOT of effort for very similar results.
the sides though, for those coins that have ridged edging, it depends. as richard said, they have a greater chance of being in the outline profile of the coin, which will make the normal mapping apparent and not look as good. but then just giveing the outer edge a general curve and mapping that as well could work very well as long as you aren’t viewing it very close.
the main question is getting a good normal map of the face on the coin. you may need to model/sculpt that to begin with… perhaps I’ll make a free map of that myself… when I get the time…

Okay, so anyway, started modeling it, and ran into this problem, how do you fix it (the very center of the coin) And there aren’t any triangles in this all quads.

Attachments

Go into face select mode, select two adjoining triangles and use Alt-J to convert triangles to quads.

Well, I already said there weren’t any triangles :confused: but here.

Attachments

My apologies, I misunderstood. You could try it like this:

Attachments

Wow, thanks definitely fixed the problem, would have never thought to use a pattern like that.

I think I’m going to make a penny (first, maybe the rest later) just for simplicity, especially since it doesn’t have ridges around the edge.