Modeling - How to Add a new loop without deforming mesh

I am fairly new to modeling in general, but I have dabbled in a number of modeling programs. Blender is actually my favorite by far, but there is ONE thing that I don’t much like about it. I was hoping that it was a matter of me doing something wrong or that someone would have some tips that I could try to avoid this unpleasantness. Any help that is given would be greatly appreciated.

So… when I am creating a model which has a spherical shape - a human head for instance - and I have a subsurf modifier applied, I get an ugly crease if I add a new loop cut. This doesn’t happen when I use swift loop in 3d Studio Max, so I’m hoping there is something I could do differently to make it so that it doesn’t happen in Blender. I don’t understand why this would be the default behavior. Even from the perspective of how the subsurf modifier works, should the new vertices not just be at the halfway point (on the respective axes) between the two sets of vertices where the new loop cut was added? I REALLY don’t want this one thing to be what forces me to a different program when I absolutely love Blender, but I also don’t want all of my models to look like crap. What really gets me is I see all kinds of models where this issue isn’t present. Anyways, again thanks in advance for any and all help. Cheers!

I’m not 100% sure what you mean. Unless someone else knows, maybe some screenshots would help.

If you’re adding a loop in edit mode with ctrl-r just make sure to confirm with a right click, than it’ll be in the middle. moving the mouse and left clicking again would offset and place it in either direction, scroll wheel would add more divisions.

I think the OP wants to preserve the displacement of the mesh before the edges were placed. That’ll create a flattened area if you did that on a sphere with a subdiv modifier and not taking additional steps to correct it.