Modeling Issue - objects moving on "undo"

I am a fairly fresh noob to Blender, and it’s being mean to me.

I am modeling a globe-style grid, pretty basic stuff, and whenever I hit ctrl-Z to undo, all of the objects that make up my globe place themselves flat along the Z/Y plane. None of the other objects in the stage move, just the globe. (All of the globe lines were originally duplicated from each other if that helps.)

I realize the problem is probably between the keyboard and the chair, so any help with this issue would be much appreicated, and may prevent a premature death from smashing my head into the computer.

To sum it up, this is what I’m trying to get:
http://www.triadconferences.com/resources/images/globe_good.jpg

and here’s what happens whenever I hit Undo:
http://www.triadconferences.com/resources/images/globe_bad.jpg

Thanks in advance!!

Just hit letter U to undo in edit mode. Cntl z is (I Think-havent checked) aligning everything onto the z-axis.

Yep that’s the trouble. Thanks for your help! I figured it was user-error. Curse my Adobe-trained keyboard commands!

Is there no “Undo” command in Object mode? And if the “Snap to Z” does happen, is there a way to go back? Even when I go back to a previously saved file everything is magically snapped to Z.

Well its weird- I just tried cntrl+z and it does do an ‘undo’ I then made a few changes on an object, in object mode cntrl+z undid all the modelling steps at once! U does single step undo in edit mode, in object mode it does a ‘make single user’ as expected. What OS are you on littleblue?

I’m unfortunately on a Windows XP system, and I’m using Blender 2.42a.