Modeling madness

Hi, i am kind of new to blender, but i understand the basics of modeling and all. So i have been trying to model for so long and there always ends up being some type of error that ruins my product! well i started a new model not too long ago, and it was looking great. It was just a regular human model. I had the mirror modifier on, and had finished the torso neck and legs. i decided i would check to see how it was looking by applying subsurf. It all looked realy great untill i looked at the butt! for some reason the butt that i had made changed when subsurf was applied and now there is a huge butt crack that goes down his butt and all the way back up his belly! i was so frustrated and wanted to know if there is any way to fix this or if i have to start again. (btw it looks fine without subsurf added) :frowning:

In the mirror modifier settings enable the ‘clipping’ option so any vertices on the mirrored axis are locked there
Mirror modifier wiki entry: http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:2.5/Manual/Modifiers/Mesh/Mirror

I did that, but for some reason the weard looking butt crack wont go away. and when i select the verticies and bring them forward it only give me an option to have a protrusion or a crack :frowning:

Make sure they are really on the mirror axis and you can’t drag them of the axis.

i was able to get rid of the but crack by pulling all the verticies together. but now it seems that there is a line spliting the torso in half

Hello! Before you apply any modifier, make sure that mirror is ABOVE the subsurf…

Dude if you took of the du clipping, there shouldn’t b a problem that occurs like this. You should b able to just move them back where need b. If theres like a huge indented line that divides the torso, select the mesh in edit mode and move it along the x-axis away form the origin point just a little bit. Can’t wait till you get started on the head:evilgrin: