Modeling Tutorial for Game Character

I’m looking for a tutorial (or set of tutorials) with extensive coverage of the development of a video game character asset (models, textures, joints, rigging, weight painting, etc).

I’m been scouring Youtube for a while now, and learning has been extremely slow for the most part (I have learned about concepts like weight painting, polygon count, topology, bump mapping, x/y/z axes). However, many of the tutorials I’ve found either explain very little or don’t indicate what hotkeys are being used concurrently.

Does anyone know of any specific tutorials that are easy to learn from for a complete beginner to 3d modeling software? I’ve used things like photoshop before but 3d modeling feels like a completely new ballgame. Earlier I found this tuhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RfAYtY4KsF4 but it requires a paid membership, something I don’t have access to. The character looks great, and it covers a wide variety of topics. Are there any free alternatives to it, or set of tutorials that can substitute for something like it?

I don’t mind if they are tutorials for other programs as well (Maya, 3dsmax, Lightwave) but I just need something that is easy to begin with and covers a wide scope of topics for 3d models used in video games. Thanks in advance.