Modelling a cup of water

I’m quite new to blender and I recently undertook the project of modeling a glass of water. I took two cylinders and subtracted the larger from the smaller one to create a cup. Another smaller cylinder placed within the larger one serves as my model for water.

I followed this tutorial for instructions on creating clear glass (except for the part about Raytracing and Buffer Shadows): http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:Tutorials/Materials/Clear_Glass

When I render my model, I get the following result: /uploads/default/original/3X/1/9/1994b2fb8aa3019dcaa8ffc1a7460c4e041c50e3.jpgstc=1&d=1281075010

First of all, there are black splotches which are altogether unacceptable… What are those all about (I have changed the depth for transparency to 7)?

Second of all, I chose red as the colour of the cup, but if its transparency fresnel=5, shouldn’t the red be completely invisible? Why can I still see it?

Thank you very much for your help,
Silentrebel

Attachments

By subtract do you mean boleon?
I remeber them being messy unless you had a dense mesh.
And I assume thats where the problem lies.
Did you recalculate normals, CTRL N
remove doubles, W menu
and check if its a solid object, by selecting non-manifold, also in the W menu I believe. or CTRL ALT SHIFT M

By subtract, I do mean boolean…

So one suggestion would be to create a cylinder with many many vertices?

I read about recalculating normals, but when I select my object and press ctrl+n, nothing seems to happen.

At first, the doubles were part of the problem, but I’m sure there aren’t any now…

I’m not sure what you mean by this point: “check if its a solid object, by selecting non-manifold, also in the W menu I believe. or CTRL ALT SHIFT M” I suspect I haven’t come across it yet; could you explain what you mean in more detail?

I tried an experiment that might be worth mentioning.