Modelling a Longboard

Good Evening,
first of all I’m going to introduce myself, I’m an italian architecture student (sorry for my english) , and this year we’ve approached to 3d modeling and rendering using blender.
during these months we’ve trained using the basic commands and for the exam we need to produce some renders using them.
one of them asks to produce a wheeled vehicle.
i’ve choose a longboard skateboard and the result is this.

well, i’m not a “blenderartist” but i’m proud enough for my work, anyway “I WANT MOOOOORE”.
i’ve some doubt to the best way to model the board. to model that I’ve started from a bezier curve for the external shape than duplicated, mirrored and joined. little bit of extrusion and voilà. well, as you can see is not a photorealistc render, but i think that te worst part is the wood board. it looks too “fake”. i’ve tried to apply a bevel to the edges (after convert the curve to mesh). but nothing happens.
another problem is that the boards are “stratified” and on the external edge you can see the different kind of wood, so i’ve tought to stratify the board using duplicates of the same shape one above the others. is that a good idea?

please, give me some suggestion.
thanks.

Attachments

I’m relatively new to Blender as well, but I would probably approach this starting with a cube, subdivide a couple of times, apply a subsurf modifier, and then start tweaking the shape. To get more rounded edges, you could put in a couple of edge loops and then shape the edges a bit.

As for the sides, I’ve done a wooden board before and when I UV unwrapped it, I used a different texture on the sides. I had to find an image of wood from the side and ends instead of just the top. Try to find a set of textures that are of the same piece of wood, otherwise it won’t match up.

To get more realistic wood, apply a bump map as well, but be careful not to overdo it. You want just enough to give it a slight texture. You might want to bump map the ground also.