Modelling a Rover SD1 in Blender

Hi Fellas.
Alright I’m new to blender and have gone through the basic tutorials on they’re website on how the interface works and how your supposed to model and so on. This is for the Windows version BTW.

What I’m looking to create is a car model for the PC Game Grand Theft Auto IV. Looking aroung it seems that the first thing you should get when trying to model any car in blender is some quality blueprints that you can use as templates. Yet at The-Blueprints.com, for most of the models i’m interested in making (British Leyland ones) and especially for the Rover above, they only have the Side and Top blueprints, so I’m kind of at a loss as to where to start on this project since I’ve never actually done any 3D Application stuff before, I mean like never before. I can probably manage the sides and the roof but filling in the front and back with grilles, headlights and whatnot might be tricky, might just need to look at pictures and guess it fairly well.

I’m amazed how people manage to make such detailed 3D Car models as mods for games and I always wonder how they do it, it cant surely be done simply by examining photos of them and tryin your best to replicate the shape and bodyworks plus all the minor details, they get interiors right aswell, granted there’s probably a few of them at it but it never ceases to astonish me how they do it.
So has anyone any ideas of how I can take this forword?
Cheers

Hi sam4, as well as the-blueprints.com, there’s also www.smcars.net, I think you have to register if I recall, but then you have to with the other to get full size blueprints anyway.