Modelling for Games, Need help!!

Hey all. So im helping out with some models for a game made in Unity, and im trying to create a basic ‘dungeon’

Whats the best way to go about this? what rules to i need to follow? i have never done scenery before so i dont know how it works at all.

Also does anyone have a scene for a game that they can let me disect??

Thanks alot for any help
Josh

@brinemobee
The first thing i would do is draw some concept art, to give u an idea of the feel that u want when in it.
Next you would begin to model a basic shape of the dungeon, something similar to what u drew. Then get into a little more detail on it by sculpting or adding edge loops where neede etc… Next, i would make the props or items u want in the dungeon (i.e: torches on the walls, the gates that hold the prisoners, that kind of thing. Once u have everything u want in the dungeon modeled, begin texturing it. the best way to do this is unwrapping the objects and exporting them into the GIMP or Photoshop, and there u can texture them. However, for the tunnel, i would use a simple seamless dirt/rock texture and use texture painting and paint maybe a path through the dungeon or something. once everything is textured place it where u want it. Then add some lights and there u have it, a dungeon ready to be used in a game.

There are in depth tutorials on youtube and google on how to do the things above. For the texture painting/splatting, use this tutorial.
Hope that helps a little :slight_smile:

Hey FPS thanks for replying so fast.

Heres the thing. 1: I cant draw. blender is my introduction to art and i can never draw what i want so i have yet to try really hard to draw something good.

Secondly, although i can sometimes build half decent models i get really stuck at the beginning, i dont really have enough experience to plan ahead so i just go with it, sometimes it works, mostly it doesnt.