Modelling high-quality alien/monster (for animation)

Hi Blendermen! I am proffesional 3ds MAX designer and Blender is my passion too! I am new to Blender and I am workin with it only 6 months! :wink: So, once some time ago I wanted to make the model of some high-quality alien or monster (alienster). Well, I started it 2 days ago and worked about only 30 mins. u can see it in attachment!
Please give me some more advises about this model- how can I improve good-quality textures, how to complete the modeling-what do u think about this model, what can add more, anything! Say what u dont like- and what u like! Critique! Give advise! Talk! :eyebrowlift2:

Thanx!

Of course the model is not yet complete and is too simple- but …:confused:
I will work on it :D. Also-Blender Smooth engine is not soo pretty :mad: ! :frowning:
My primary OS is Ubuntu Linux(for info)

P.S. Later I will post also picture of the model from other viewports.

Hi there and welcome, the smoothing is something I had to adjust to as well. But you learn to like it, and it kinda helps you to spot errors beforehand, which is cool.

I hope that maybe someday Blender developers will generaly update their smooth-engine code! or I will… hahah :slight_smile:

is good one-but I want to make other one…

is enough good, but I want to make less lok like human
monster is monster…

You should probably do that, they threw away voxels for fire =(. Could’ve been for any number of reasons but that’s one area Blender needs work on. Fire. Looking forward to seeing the completed model.

Have you got a sketch of what your final monster will look like? For animation like in a game engine, or animation like a short video? It matters. Welcome to BlenderArtists.

Great job so far, and aren’t you using a mirror modifier? Oh, and welcome to blender!

P.S. What’s wrong with the Smooth engine?