Modelling - strange vertex behavior

(krizu) #1

Hi,

I’m quite new to 3d modelling and was trying to model a hand after some box modelling tutorial and now I am at the point of adding the fingernails. The thumb-nail got quite fine but now when I try to refine the second nail some of the vertices move in unexpected directions when I move or scale them. For example I move the mouse to the right with one or to vertices selected, the vertices moves to left or up and both in different directions. Also when I stick the movement to one of the axes it doesn’t help, I can’t control the direction as I am used to. Strangely I didn’t have this kind of behavior at the thumbnail part.
Can it be because I already assigned armature and weight? (I was kind of impatient … and decided to add more detail after rigging)
I guess there’s a simple reason right in front of my eyes but … you know.

Another question I have which came up in the refining process:
Is there a way to move vertices along the connecting edges? Well this would have helped me alot in the nail modelling part as it was quite a lot of trial and error to get it almost as wanted.

http://img499.imageshack.us/img499/1447/hand15xg.th.png

krizu

(Fligh) #2

In the header bar of the 3D window is an icon for Rotation/Scaling Pivot Point. Yours is set to Cursor and the 3D cursor is on the wrong side of the selected verts. Move the cursor or choose “Median Point”.

%<

(jimww) #3

if you are using the newest CVS, it may be that the armature is affecting your mesh. you can turn of the modifier influence in the edit panel. the vertexes will move relative to the axis of the bones they are parented to. ( i think. )

i believe you can also do vertex sliding in the latest CVS, but i have not found it yet. check the documentation. ( if i find the link, i wll post it here. unless someone else beats me to it. )

jim ww

PS found it: http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Subdivide_Tools.599.0.html