Modify Cycles materials and presents GUI

Hello everyone.

I am trying to modify blender in order to add another render engine to it. Currently I am working on the material interface, but I want to have my own materials, in separated engine environment just like Cycles has on Blender 2.61.

Have any of you know, how can I add my own engine to blender, and how I add my own interfaces to it. ?

Or how can I modify Cycles materials and render GUI to add my own render parameters ?

You can look at Cycles python interface, files in blender/intern/cycles/render/ folder, better start at session.c, and you need to modify core Blender node system directly, I am not good at it but some trails in blender/source/blender/nodes/NOD_shader.h, blender/makesrna/intern/rna_nodetree_types.h, lender/source/blender/blenkernel/intern/node.c, node key ID holder blender/source/blender/blenkernel/BKE_node.h, blender/intern/cycles/blender/blender_shader.cpp, many other i missed. You can also grep “holdout” (and capped “HOLDOUT” as well) as nice example what to need changed to make new basic material node.

Or how can I modify Cycles material and render GUI to add my own render parameters ?

That is much more easy, give me example of material i can write more detailed examples where to make changes.

Hello storm. Thanks for your answer.

As you commented, I took the second option and I modified Cycles materials and render params to connect my render engine to blender.

I did it like this, in what ever place you have installed blender theres a folder that has cycles scripts, in my case is this:

/opt/blender-2.61/2.61/scripts/addons/cycles/

Here you can find these files:

init.py – This files declares a the new render engine and executes register cycles components.
engine.py – Call the cycles’ render engine.
enums.py – declares the enumerators used by cycles.
preset.py – declares a single preset to define different integration types, but here you can add your own presets.