Molecules

This is the thumbnail from my most recent tutorial on the CGFigures channel on YouTube. The tutorial shows start to finish how you can design or access molecules using free software and then import them into Blender for rendering. As someone with a decade of university chemistry under their belt this may be my favourite subject. This image was rendered in Eevee (with a whole hell of a lot of depth of field) and shows five different molecules (benzene, ibuprofen, adenosine, boron subphthalocyanine chloride and Spiro-MeOTAD). With largely the same atoms these five structures separately act as solvents, painkillers, fundamental building blocks of life, OLED emitters and one of the primary components of some of the highest efficiency solar cells in the world. Chemistry can be pretty cool sometimes and showing it off in Blender is just as awesome.

5 Likes

Hi there,
really nice work. :smiley:

Being a chemist myself, I wanted to add that there are various scripts that allow to import molecular structures into Blender, such as blmol:

I am currently adding an interface and support for volumetric data from cube files to this, in order to view molecular orbital/electron densities/etc:
phe-LUMO

You can check it out here:

Thanks for posting this. This is very cool and I’m definitely going to check it out. Volumetrics sound like they would be a really cool addition. I have a workaround for those right now but saying that it isn’t very pretty would be generous.

Thank you for the code. I am a physicist and I use the VASP code. I am trying to visualize the density of the magnetization (the CHGCAR file) with blender. the bmol code takes into account this type of file? as you do to make the charge density more or less transparent?