Monkey King

Hi Blender Artists, first post on this forum but have been browsing for a while.

I would say that i’m still pretty new at 3D modeling, this would be my 3rd model or so, so if it’s of poor quality i’d like to think that it’s because of my inexperience rather my artistic skills.

Anyway, im attempting to model the “Monkey King” from the chinese tale “A journey to the west”. Obviously it’s no way near complete. I have to do some additional work on the materials and lightning ,aswell as the eyes but i’m pretty happy with the current result.

What do you think?

looks pretty good so far. Got wires?

Sure. Probably not the best topology. He kind of looks like gollum with out his fur on.

It kind of reminds me of Stitch for some reason.

Nice Monkey. He looking Angry. Make him Smile.

haha, he does kinda look like Gollum, and Stitch at the same time :smiley: pretty cool!

Nice. You’ve done a good job at capturing Jamie Hewletts style.

Thanks and +1 for recognizing where i got the inspiration/reference from.

Yes, i’ve been thinking about this. However, i’ve allready applied the mirror and subsurf modifiers which makes it a real pain to modify the mesh :frowning:

A tip for making symmetrical edits to a mesh after the mirror modifier is applied:

Switch over to sculpt mode and enable x symmetry on your sculpting tools. Use the grab or draw brush to “push” vertices around.

Or, box select (keyboard shortcut “b”) half the face, delete vertices, apply new mirror modifier.

@timothyjritter - I think the applied Subsurf would still get in the way though. depending on the Level it was applied with, there might be an awful lot of vertices.