Monster Armature

Hey, I’m fairly new to blender and i was wondering if i had these armatures in the right places and also if i can get some tips on armatures it wud be much appreciated

Attachments

Looks pretty good to me. As far as tips go, I would check out David Ward’s tutorials on YouTube. He should be very easy to find, and he does a great job on teaching about rigging and animating.

oh David Ward, i followed his face rigging technique vid on blendercookie to understand how armatures work, i used what i learned from that to make this : ). i’ve just been looking at the ankles, and wrists and im not sure whether i should make them into segmented bendy bones like the neck or not.

be sure to align the rolls before you attach to your creatures (select all bones in edit mode, CTL-N, choose Y or Z axis )

ah thanks, i was looking for that but it didnt come up on the search option and i couldnt remember the shortcut.
a little problems come up, i’ve completely forgotten how to apply the armature to the mesh : ( i tried parenting the mesh to the armature and vice versa but nothin happens when i move the different parts of the armature, i mean, the armature moves but the mesh doesnt. this is the first time ive done an armature by myself so any help would be incredibly useful.

parent with empty groups or with automatic groups, then do weight painting…

wow, that helped more than i thought, the monster has a pretty high vertex count even tho theres not an amazing amount of detail so the “cage” mesh in the vid will be a great help with it

also, if i add the mesh to the armature now but add the face rig later, parenting it to the other armature, will i be getting alot of problems? if so id better add the face rig beforehand