Motion Graphics and Visual Effects

Hi, I’m rather new to Blender, so please excuse my question if it seems uninformed.

I recently watched a video tutorial on motion graphics and visual effects using Adobe After Effects. I’d like to perform video editing effects like those that can be accomplished with After Effects, but do not know if Blender can do that without me having to buy After Effects (which is about $800).

Can Blender v2.5 perform motion graphics and visual effects similar to those that can be achieved using products like Adobe After Effects?

Thanks you for your assistance,
Fulano

No way, not the basics, or comparible to the multitude of plugins available for AE, nor the speed with the Mercury Engine. If you have the cash go for AE. Production Studio CS5 is great value. Money well spent. :slight_smile:

It depends on what you’re trying to do. There are certain things that AE can do that you can’t do at the moment in Blender, like motion tracking. (Well, 2D tracking, even After Effects doesn’t do 3D tracking). And personally I find it hard to do video editing in Blender. I also prefer AE’s layer based compositing to Blender’s node compositing. Just doing a simple chroma key in Blender is probably 10x more complicated than in After Effects with the Keylight plugin. But for general 3D motion graphics, Blender works great. It also has a great particle system, rigging and constraints, and physics simulations.

Blender is great for time wasting, AE is great for producing stuff quickly. Although I can do really nice picture moves in 3 space in Blender which are painfull in 2.5D AE.