Moving points

Hi,

I am very new to scripting Blender in Python. I am a phd student in fluid dynamics, and would like to create my geometries in Blender, and the number crunching will be done by http://www.opencfd.co.uk/openfoam/, a great open source CFD code.

Since it seems a daunting task, I would just like to ask to know how, givin the nale of an object, the coordinate of its vertices can be moved, one at a time with different value. So, I would like to know how to:

1. have this object identified in Python
  2. loop over its vertices
  3. apply a translation which depend of current.

Even vague hints, keywords, etc … would help be starting.

Cheers !

you are alot smarter than me but you said even vauge hints so ill give it my best shot. have you looked at this page yet? http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:Manual/Physics/Fluids

Thanks,

however, what I am looking for, even if used for fluid dynamics, is primarily information on vertices manipulation through Python in Blender.

Vertex manipulation in python can be accomplished as such:

import bpy

# Name of object
obName = "MyObject"

# Get Current Scene
scn = bpy.data.scenes.active

# Get the object I want from the scene
nOb = [o for o in scn.objects if o.name == obName][0]

# Grab the mesh data from that object
me = nOb.getData(mesh = True)

# Loop through the verts and set their coordinates
for v in me.verts:
     v.co = [myXCo, myYCo, myZCo]

If you want to animate this, then you’ll need to look into Script links.

Thanks,

I had this error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “Text.001”, line 17, in <module>
TypeError: expected vector argument of size 3

but I modified the lasts lines using

for v in me.verts:
v.co[0] = v.co[0]+0.1
v.co[1] = v.co[1]+0.1
v.co[2] = v.co[2]+0.1

And it works. I do not know how to deal with those vectors objects directly: “print v.co” gave me: 1.000000, 1.000000, -1.000000.