Multi image/layer UV Mapping

Forgive me if this has been dealed with before (if it has can you please point me in the right direction).

I am new to UV mapping and run into the same problem that a lot of people seem to be haveing: currently AFAIK, Blender doesn’t have build in UV unwrapping.

Now I know there are Python scripts out there that can unwrapp UV’s but what about anouther way of deailing with UV’s altogether…

They way I would like to work with UV’s is as follows:

• Create colour texture - flat images as I want it flattend - using Gimp (yeah baby!)
  • From colour map, create bump map, spec map, alpha map, map etc… as images.
  • UV map colour image to mesh just like it does not - EXCEPT:
    In the image window, have buttons for alpha, spec, col, nor etc and on each of those have the ability to assign the relevent images to that effect.

Thus the image points mapped to the flat colour image and translated directly to the spec, nor, alpha images directly, then the renderer has all the info it needs to do its job.

So - people - is this already implemented?

Thanks!

Blender has UV unwraping, in face mode press UKEY to get the menu. Not as many choices as one might like, but they are adequate. CVS builds has some more that add quite a bit of functionality to automated unwrapping.

As far as using different UV mapped images for different channels, this is done easily, just use a differrent Texture channel in your material for each image type and setup the Map To parameters on the material for those channels. Checkout the some tutorials on blender’s Materials and Textures if this doesn’t make sense to you. There a sticky topic towards the top of this forum with links.

You only have one UV mapping though, so all the images have to use the one mapping.

So - people - is this already implemented?