Multiplayer client

A lot of ppl would like to have multiplayer functionality in blender but not too many are willin to work on it, so i propose a we start a community project. Anyone willin to help can do so.

Did this a month ago with lunarkignt, if anyone is interested in helpin out plz do, now since lunarknight is gone i need all the help i can get.
I will post an updated client in a few days. It will uses flags like in saluks multiplayer, then i should have movement done. I need some help creating a server. I had a server and it worked but it doesnt work under windows xp or linux so i am outta luck.

www.brainstorm-studios.net/Bruk/scripts/Client.blend

ill help with testing if you want.
i run 98 and xp.

ild like to help with coding but im still learning the socekt stuff in python, so maybe in a month or two when i know how.

I will help you if I can, i run WinXP on a 650 mhz and a 1,7 ghz. -If it’s very important I can fix a old 100 mhz to run win98.
I also have a old 200mhz machine with NT that I don’t use, but if it would be usefull I could prob. ‘set it up’ and make it run on my DSL-connection.

This morning I got an idea on how-to make LAN-multiplayer.
You could make a shared folder on the network, and then get blender to write the players position (or write every time the player moves) to a txt-file and then get blender to read the file with a VERY VERY VERY small interval… It works with the ‘3dchat’ (ASP/MySQL) i’m working on… (okey my chat’s running with a MySQL-database, but what ever…)
…Do you understand me?..

-Mads