Musaphonic radio

Today’s project. This is a model I built back in 2003 in Lightwave. I imported it into Blender to try an improve upon it. All the clear plastic with the reflections is challenging. Blender’s surfacing works so differently from Lightwave. I’d appreciate any pointers.

Also included here some pictures of the actual radio.

The Lightwave render from 2003. I’m not getting that nice glow behind the dial like I got here. I don’t know what settings to tweak.

mouse_069

I am no material expert but i like the model!
You need something like a smokey glass right for the inside blue dome?

Well i would either add a Voronoi node (color) and bump node (height) to your glass shader node. You will obtain 4 nodes in total. Then you should add scratches to your model to help with realism. (Sculpture mode or texture also to your displacement output node)

Or add noise texture node with multiply node connected to displacement of the output node.

But like i said i am not really that good at nodes so i don’t know complex ones that would make it look real. Also you should make the gap bigger between the blue dome and the transparent plastic front panel. This way you get a better separation like in the real picture.

Thanks for commenting!
I’m not sure what you mean by blue dome. Here are some matcap shots to show you the geometry.
I’m going to remodel that dial. I kinda cheated it with texture maps. I think it will work better if I model all of it more accurately.

I also don’t understand any of what you explained about the textures. I’m really new to Blender, and I find nodes confusing, and I don’t know how most of them work yet. I’ll upload some screenshots.

On this one, I think I get better looking results with EEVEE. The dial numbers look correct here, but not in Cycles.

I made the clear plastic face a separate object.

My textures, materials