My First blender Rig, 'DJ LONG'

Hi guys,

I am a character animator (not a rigger yet… :wink: ) and am a new and fresh blenderhead. Just jumped into blender 2.5.

I created this character/rig. Very basic. Just sharing, as well as looking to improve my rigging skills. Please check it out.

dot blend for DJ LONG

Thanks
DJ

lol, This is a nice rig! I’ve been meaning to practice some animation… This rig might give me the excuse I need. :wink:

One crit, though. And I speak as a guy who has done very little animation… I’m not a pro in any way. :wink: But it would be nice to be able to rotate the bone spine_root, and position the body. It’d give a lot more flexibility, I think. Does that make sense?

I like the pose, sure has a hip attitude… :slight_smile:

thanks for sharing!

Hey thax, its just an animator preference i guess… the spine root is to move and the spine base is for rotation of the spine keeps the graph editor stays clean, and this is what some animators prefer. however, you can unlock the transforms in the panel that you get if you hit ‘n’ key in the view port if you want.

Thanks for checking it out.

Namekuseijin, thanks!

One thing I would love to learn is to rig the cap… i want the cap to squash and stretch along with the head, but i want to be able to rotate it independently… couldnt do it…can any body point out how to do it?

DJ

That’s easy. You just have to rig the cap to a bone that is a child of the squash and stretch bone. Your rig is nice, and I’m no animator (just a hobbiest one) so I can’t comment about keeping the graph editor clean or not. Your rig has a lot of character, but I think you can simplify a lot of things.