My First Blender Scene

Hi, I’m new to Blender and I’m happy to say I’ve just completed my first scene! It’s a mix of learnings from the wonderful Blender Guru tutorials and snippets picked up along the way. I had no composition thoughts for this scene besides putting the models into one environment.

I learned a lot during this process from the modelling (of the doughnut) to the different lighting effects for this scene.

It’s crazy how much Blender can actually do! I catch myself in disbelief at some of the work I see around.

6 Likes

Not bad for a first time. One thing that looks off is the HDR behaind window. Perhaps you should model some ground and grass - that might fix it.
I’m not an expert in arch-viz, so maybe someone more experinced will have better idea.

Thank you!

Yeah, it’s a bit blurry as well. My PC struggled a bit when I was messing around with HDR. The idea of adding physical models to the background never crossed my mind. Thank you for the feedback. :slight_smile:

It’s pretty enough, but the composition is odd. Why are there kitchen chairs with no table, for example, but a comfy enough looking couch?

And on what looks like a bright summer day, why are the lamps and the light on?

Good looking room!
Besides modeling the background items you can also set up a plane behind the window and use a high resolution image on it. The plane can be scaled to fit the window. There should be a little “distance” blur on the image.

Spent too much money on the couch! :sweat_smile: For this project, the main focus was to learn the software. I see what you’re getting at though. The story of the environment and reasoning around the living space. It’s definitely noted for the next project. Thank you :slight_smile:

I’m looking at adding a bit of background depth with objects and potentially new image after Silex and yourself fed this back. :slight_smile: