My first official blender render.

An Orange Cube. ;D

very good!
cycles? or vray?
did you use zbrush for the model?

this is really good work. I like the illusion of the cube floating and the execution of the materials… :confused:

@Abc

I used BlenderRender, cycles just doesn’t look good with my computer. What’s V-Ray? I’m still new to blender… Haha ;D

@Peter

Thanks, it took me a long time to figure out the materials.

Not bad! :slight_smile: The lighting’s pretty good too, not too one-sided - I’m guessing you used the Ambient Occlusion option in the World settings?

Oh, and abc123’s just messing with you - it’s a recurring joke around the forums, asking how long the cube took to model and what it’s vertex-count is, and so on (the default cube is a bit famous in the Blender community)
About V-Ray, as far as I know it’s the render engine often used with Autodesk’s 3DStudio Max, though it seems to be an external render engine compatible with several 3D programs.

Anyway, good luck! :smiley:

@Mesh

Yeah, I used Ambient Occlusion.

And OH that’s what he’s talking about, lol.

I’m glade your getting started…as we were all noobies once:) However I would suggest working with blender ( a lot) for a few weeks and watch many tutorials and then post your latest scene in either the “Works in Progress” forum or “Focused Critique” forum first to get comments. I dont want you to get discouraged posting your progress in Finished Projects forum if you get rough critques and comments.

Like MeshWeaver said above it does look like you have a good eye for lighting and I agree so keep it up:)

Happy Blending!

I think you must require new features.
You must open many topics with feature requests. :slight_smile:

@Derek

That’s sounds like a great idea. :smiley: Oh, and thanks for noticing the lighting. :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: