My first Project: Making a Slingshot for my 3d Printer

Hi Guys,

This is my first project and my first post.

I am trying to build an stl of a slingshot that I can send to my 3d printer.

I was able to bring my design in from another program, unfortunately it came in with some really complicated geometry. I am going through the process now of trying to round the grips of the slingshot by subdividing vertices and manually moving them around. The process is INCREDIBLY painful. Any tips for a first time blenderer (aka blunderer) on how to round out these grips? I tried using the sculpt tool but because so many faces run the length of the grip (see image) it just ended up giving really weird results…

Should make the Y-section separate from the grip and then join them. The way it is now, it looks like your grip is orientated 90° sideways from where you’d want it. Geometry is also a bit messy with how the tris are haphazard.

The grip is actually pointed the right direction, it is a ‘sideways’ style like what is seen here: http://slingshotforum.com/topic/9288-my-first-homemade/

My issue is exactly what you are talking about. This was designed initially as a flat vector then brought out to openscad then brought out as stl to blender. The whole thing has really weird geometry that is making it hard to round the grip portion out, right now it is as if it were a perfectly flat outline of the shape I want that was extruded out. Thoughts on how to push a curved edge around the handle on this thing? Should I start over and try to build from scratch with clean geometry with this as a guide?

Ahh - I found another way to bring a file in from inkscape - didn’t realize this was a native feature of blender. This should simplify the geometry, going to play with this and let you guys know what I come up with: youtube.com/watch?v=jD0MBYmnJSk