my first project with blender.... any suggestion is welcome

i’m a blender newbie just learning blender on video tutorial about a month ago (on and off basis). Currently i trying to put what i have learn on a fairly simple project - a bedroom.
However, what i get is rather dull and unrealistic…

http://yplanet.blogspot.com/

any comment, guide or suggestion to improve on my drawing is really needed…

:(:(:frowning:

First up, nice pic. Can see you’ve put some time into this, with a bit more this could be really good.

I think your main problem is texturing, everything appears too flat, you should think about adding noise textures as a heightmap to give things a little more grain. To me, the hardest part will be texturing in most work, but your lighting and general modelling looks nice and neat, I love the blinds!

look into making your objects ‘feel’ more real and i’d bet you’ll see improvements.

Rough up the pillows, a little AO and just a little less reflection on the floor.

Looks good.

Blender Internal doesn’t reflect light from surfaces. You’ll have to fake it by putting in “bounce” lights to get the indirect light that should be lighting up the ceiling and corners and walls from light reflected from the floor. (You have some of that already, but need a bit more.)

The main difficulty in getting a realistic look in Blender Internal is not the textures or additional modeling, but lies in correcting the colors. See Yves Poissant’s tutorial on Tone and Gamma Corrections and my thread Tone and Gamma Corrections where I applied Yves’ tutorial to a chess set.

Welcome to BlenderArtists :smiley:

thanks for all the comments, I’ll try to improve on my drawing tonite…
hope to get a better result then… :stuck_out_tongue:

Ninjitzue: thanks for ur suggestion, i’ll certainly look into texturing on the model… the blinds actually i get from a max model… :stuck_out_tongue:

another_noob: i’ll try ur suggestion. hopefully tonite can have a better picture