My friend's portrait need critique

(islara1) #1

Hi everyone,
i started on my friend portrait and i reached a point where everything is fine but something wrong, you know what i mean, so i hope some portrait expert give me some tips, i’m new to the realism thing

ychbah

i need some tips for the studio lighting and the clothing as well.

(islara1) #2

more images

(islara1) #3

any critiques at this point??

(Green) #4

Hopefully I can help you out a little bit. You got the bulk of the likeness down already but I think half the reason why you feel stuck so far is because of your render. Go into your scene render settings and use a clay material for everything. The colors of the skin and hair are distracting this early in the process and makes it seem worse than it actually is (cause it looks good in the comparison picture).

Here’s what I usually use:

A clay shader will help you fill out your basic forms cause that’s what will determine how realistic this will look in the end. Google celebrity sculptures like Robin Williams to get what I’m talking about.

Other than that:

• The eyes are too big, make them smaller and if you’re worried that it won’t match your references, adjust the focal length of your camera and viewport, that should compensate.
  • He needs more forehead and a slightly receding hairline in the shape of a heart.
  • This bust is missing the caruncle at the inside corner of the eyes
  • His facial hair could use some work. From what I can tell, the flow of his hair is right but it’s too long.
  • His beard could be a little bit messier (like maybe go into the children settings and adjust the randomness)
  • His eyebrows stretch too far around his head. Trim it down a bit.
  • There’s a triangular split between his mustache from what I can tell and there’s a gap between his beard and the soul patch under his lip.
    I did some quick photoshop work on his facial hair and eyebrows so you can see what I mean.

(kkar) #5