My home, first render

architecture
texturing
modeling
(Carol) #1

Hi everyone! This is my very first project using Blender. It took me 12 days (I dedicated 95 hours) from the moment I installed the software to the final renders, including the time I spent watching tutorials, reading documentation and forums, googling stuff, taking measures from actual objects, and sketching on paper.

I modelled my living room and kitchen, real scale, making some color modifications and created every single texture and material. The only thing I have downloaded is the Filmic Encoding. I wanted to add more things like books, my computer, decoration, et cetera, but my desktop is a little old so doing that would mean more Blender crashes due to low RAM.

These are the best renders I could made without having to wait a thousand hours. The most difficult things for me were the lightning (finally chose a sun and some emission planes since I wanted natural light) and the render properties.

Since I’m a new user, I can only upload one picture, but if you are interested in the rest, I’ve uploaded the images to instagram (@rockarendah).

Size: 1400px x 1920px, 75%
Time: 2:20 hours (each one)
Samples: 1500
Clamp Direct: 4
Clamp Indirect: 6
Light Sampling: 0.5
Bounces: 6-3
Reflective/Refractive Caustics: On
Filter glossy: 1
Denoising: On
Filmic: Exposure 1, Gamma 1

I would appreciate if you can give me any suggestions/opinions.
Thank you!

3 Likes

(Marc) #2

Very nice first render,

I think most of the user in this forum will agree that their first renderers was not nearly as good and not nearly as independent done. Im also a relative newbie with blender, but a i want to give you a few advices.

1. You dont need to stick on one picture for ever -> MOVE ON
  • you surely learned much in these 95 hours and so on but that is (for beginner!) the most time you should invest into one picture
  • it is way more effective to move on and create a picture with a different topic