My lamp problem

Hi people! I have a problem with lighting for a lamp I am making for a room I am making. My lamp I am doing has really poor light to it, and I was wondering can someone help me make it so the glass tube part light up, and have it light up a small part of a room? I also don’t want to make it too bright either. I want it to light up like these lamps http://www.globalviews.com/images/prnews/PRkit/PRfall07-06.jpg .

Attachments

Hi,

I can’t make out many details in the image you’ve attached.

Are the white bits glass? Is there a lamp inside? Are you using raytracing? What materials are you using on the glass, and the objects around?

If you attach a .blend we might be able to help more.

Yes the white bits are glass, and there are two lamps inside. I played with all the lamps there is and this was the best one. Also, I don’t know how to use raytracing (im a huge noob). I am going to put the lamp beside a TV and speaker setup. Do you want me to attach a picture of my room that is in progess? I also want a like a dull glass like in the picture, and I can’t find anything on that type of plastic or glass. So, I used frosted glass (I don’t really want this).