My math sucks - I need some help with ray_cast!

I’m trying to teach myself the Blender API and thought it would be fun to try out the ray_cast method.

What I’m trying to do here, is for each polygon of the objects, cast a ray in the direction of the polygon normal to the other object and see if it ‘hits’ it.

Unfortunately my math sucks and I’m a noob to the API, so I’m not sure my script is working as expected! :smiley:

I was expecting to see in the system console, some ‘False’ results, but all I see is True. I would have thought limiting the distance to 1 would have prevented any true results given the locations, so I think somethings gone badly wrong!

Any help is greatly appreciated…

Thanks

trigHelp.blend (670.5 KB)

import bpy
import numpy as np

def getDirection(loc1, loc2):

dx = loc1[0] - loc2[0]
dy = loc1[1] - loc2[1]
dz = loc1[2] - loc2[2]

distance = np.sqrt([dx * dx, dy * dy, dz * dz])

return [np.cos(dx), np.cos(dy),np.cos(dz)]

selection_names = bpy.context.selected_objects

for i in selection_names:
for poly in i.data.polygons:
for obj in selection_names:
if(i.name != obj.name):
direction = getDirection(poly.normal, obj.location)
origin = np.add(i.location,poly.normal)
print(“poly Object=”, i.name, “poly index=”, poly.index, “location object=”, obj.name, “calculated orgin =”, origin, “location=”, obj.location, “calculated direction=”, direction)

test = bpy.context.scene.ray_cast(
                    view_layer = bpy.context.view_layer,
                    origin = origin,
                    direction = direction,
                    distance=1)

print(test)

on my phone so i can’t do a super detailed reply, but you realize you can just do direct vector math in python yeah? so to get the distance and direction, you can just do:

direction = vec1 - vec2
distance = direction.length

Thanks! Certainly helps to know what the calculation should be to get the result I’m looking for!

I’ll give that a go and check the results. :+1:t3: