My mesh becomes messed up when I join different mesh. Why is this happening?

Please someone help me with this. I am a beginner, started working on a model few weeks ago but i was using blender 2.8, when i came to know about an update, i quickly upgraded to 2.82a but my blend file got all weird after re importing. But when I separated the mesh in edit mode, by materials or by lose parts,mesh becomes normal again. I have linked the images as well as the blender file regarding the problem. I have tried importing and exporting using fbx, obj etc. I also removed all of the shape keys but it also did not fix the problem. The file still opens and works fine in blender 2.8 though. this issue is also happening with 2.81. Please I really need help with this THANKS! This is after separating or before joining

This is after joining mesh(using ctrl J)

Blend file https://drive.google.com/open?id=1KNnAh_Hxqvh1U13GGNjy6QK5Zc_utLq_

Sorry, I just tried it and it imports just fine in Blender 2.82.7

When I open a blend file from previous versions I will open the Gear ico in the upper Right of the open dialogue, and uncheck LOAD UI, you never know what from the earlier version UI might mess up. It usually doesn’t, but you never know.

Note: One thing I noticed, you have not applied Scale and or Rotation ( Ctrl+A ) . Apply Scale
Just for reference, if you don’t many, many things will just flat mess up, and you will not know why. Try to apply Scale after you move, join scale or just edit something on the mesh, it doesn’t hurt and can save a lot of headaches!

Thanks for the quick reply!
I’ll make sure to apply transform, I usually forget doing that.