My render does not look realistic - highly appreciate your feedback!

Hey guys,

im a complete beginner and just tried to render a bath scene. All textures are normal maps except the glass of the shower and the towel holder.

My guess is my lighting is completely wrong, thats why the whole scenery looks so flat.

I would love to hear your feedback to make the render look better. Big Thanks!!

Top View Light

What are you talking about!? IT LOOKS SO REALISTIC!!!

1 Like

I think it looks really nice so far. The large flat area on the left - is that a window? Maybe adding a hdri and some depth-of-field/focal lenght adjustments may give the result you’re looking for.

Also, if the room is being lit by daylight, shouldn’t the light from the lamps be way less visible?

1 Like

Yeah thats a window! Really good points, I will directly change this. I always underestimate some simple things for getting a render more realistic like DOP, HDRIs, and the right lighting as you said.

Big Big thanks for your feedback - love to develop me trough this sort of thing!!

1 Like

thank you :slight_smile: idk how to explain but I´ve the feeling that it´s kind flat and that there´s a missing depth trough shadow/light setting. I will realize the notes @bartificial wrote. I think those are really good and simple points to make a big step further into realism!

1 Like

Your textures are too basic.
Looks like you have no reflection map at all, no bump/displacement map either (speaking about the tiles joints here mostly).
Given that there’s nothing at the windows, it makes it weird to have a light coming from the side, and for me the general ambient light is too bright. There are barely any shadows. Which is for me the biggest reason it’s not as realistic as you’d like.
And for a small detail, I think the heater could be slightly pulled off the wall (at least 2-3mm) as even if it’s fixed directly on the wall, there would still be a tiny gap between the 2.