My skeleton

I’ve been working on a skeleton. It’s rigged, though perhaps not the best way, since I’m not an expert in that. I made the various bones from pictures in Gray’s Anatomy, so I think they are roughly right. It wasn’t so easy to find out how the bones fit together, or their relative sizes.

My main problem is the ribs. They are obviously the wrong shape, but I can’t work out what’s wrong with them. Also, they move really badly when I pose the rig. I could really use some help to improve them. The .blend is at www.chatburn-weather.co.uk/blender/danse_macabre/skeleton.blend (if I’ve got that right).

By the way, if anyone can make use of this, please feel free. Though if you make any improvements (and there’s plenty of scope!) it would be great to get them back.

Attachments

umm…thanks i guess…:smiley:

This is questions about modeling and modeling tools. If you want to put this somewhere, put it in one of the project forums.

I think your problem with the ribs is that they spread out towards the bottom… I think they should be their widest somewhere in the middle and the top should be a bit wider

You have more then just the ribs to be concerned with . The head is off-shape (looks too pointy) and the bones of the extremities are too blocky (they are larger at the ends and taper in the middle) and in general almost none of your bones are anatomically correct in detail .
But since you were worried about the ribs I marked up a rough shape you might want to follow in a screen shot along with a couple of other major bones which are incorrect .
For the ribs:
from the front view : the most important thing you are missing is the inter-costal arch - this is a series of cartilage that defines the lower portion of the ribs from rib 6 to rib 10 - and yes it usually looks like an arch . And in general the outer curve that the ribs indicate also has an arch to it almost like and egg with its pointed end upwards . Also the clavicle (collar bone) is too high .