My third 3D modeling project. Need help on texturing.

Hello,

I am an aspiring 3D modeler and I hope this is the right section for my post and I hope my noobishness won’t be offputting.

Due to the fact that I don’t have 10 posts yet, I am unable to upload the .blend file or any screenshots so if you are interested in helping me then please send a private message.

I started 3D modeling a couple of weeks ago when I discovered Blender Guru’s fantastic donut and anvil series. I was really happy with my results and decided I should make my own model, this time without a tutorial. I thought a sword would be an interesting project so I started modeling a scottish claymore. I have been hammering at this model for about 9 days (I am still a newbiew).

It is fully modeled and textured but it is missing that final “oomph”. Although Blender Guru’s videos were extremely informative, I thought the part where he added the finishing touches such as scratches was a bit rushed, understandable considering the length of the series so I although I consider my results on the anvil to be very satisfying, I don’t feel like I really learned what was happening and applied those concepts mechanically. I still find the more advanced concepts of the node editor to be very intimidating. I mean I know how to add a texture, displacement and normal map but that is about it for now.

Even so, I am not sure what kind of detailing to add on the sword. I mean an anvil is made to be hammered all day and you don’t have to care very much for it but a sword is a different matter, even if it is a very old heirloom. I keep fearing that I will overdo the detailing and scratches.

What kind of scratches should I add? Can you recommend some good scratch and grunge brushes? What about other detailing?

As mentioned before, if you want to help me then send a PM.

that was a long intro for a simple question…