Navigation basics - frustrated beyond belief

I’ve been trying to get into Blender for a long while now, and am on the verge of giving up. I can now do some quite advanced things with it very quickly and easily, but some of the most simple aspects of using 3D software remain utterly beyond my grasp. I should emphasise that I am not a noob when it comes to 3D software: I’ve been doing it for over 20 years, and highly proficient in platforms such as Lightwave, 3D Studio, Form•Z, Sketchup, etc. I’ve taught classes in most of these. My renderings have won awards in the Smithsonian. So the fact that I can’t even figure out how to reliably pan and zoom in Blender is beyond aggravating.

A caveat: I am trying to do this work on a Macbook Pro, without accessories. This means: 1.) I do not have have a numberpad, and 2.) I am using a trackpad, not a 3-button mouse. As such, virtually all of the advice on the internet does not work – and yes, I know about numberpad emulation; it still doesn’t really work. So please don’t tell me to use numberpad-period; that isn’t emulated. And don’t tell me to use alt-home; I don’t have a home key. And don’t tell me to click the middle mouse button; I don’t have a middle mouse button.

What I want to do:

1.) Centre the view on the object I have selected. This should be Shift-C, from everything I’ve read. Unfortunately, that just zooms the view out to include the object I have selected. How do I centre it?

2.) Reliably dolly or zoom in and out of an object, or some point on an object. Much of the time, I can do this by holding down ctrl and scrolling up and down using the two-finger gesture on the trackpad. Then – for no reason I can figure out – this stops working. Can’t dolly or zoom anywhere. Only solution seems to be to abandon the project I’m working on and start a new one. That can’t be right.