Need Advice to create character

Hi, I am not an artist so my skills are very limited. I have no choice to create a character for game what i want. So here i need your advices;
I develope a game and i need a protagonist. But i cant create him. I couldn’t find a suitable model also.
What do you think?
Path 1: Get a clear base model, rig it animate it, and develope your game with this. Than, i can implement textures materials and clothes on it. Question; Is it possible? I mean, if i get a mesh and develope whole game with it. and someday i find an artist and he/she implement the materials on it. And this wont ruined my whole process. Only i import the newer mesh and everything works fine?
Path 2: Fİrst get your ready model. Develope your game with it. Because you cant implement anything to it one you start with a model.

And i advice any additional paths, i am happy to hear.
Thanks for the help

I don’t know what engine you use, but with UE4 you don’t have this problem, you just use the mannequin and then later you skin a proper character to that rig.
Using a placeholder Rig is definitely the way to go, the only problem with this is that you have to stick to the same rig or you would have to replace all that later which is double the work.

What I would suggest to you is do all your design up front - the art style is very important. If you have a clear vision how your game should look like, implementing the character later shouldn’t be a problem. As well as other assets.
Develop with placeholder assets, don’t spent too much time on actual producing proper assets, rather focus on gameplay first.
You can always spent some money on a character/assets later, if you can’t get it done yourself.
If you have a working prototype of a game it will also be easy to maybe get somebody motivated to help you (for less financial compensation or none at all).