Need advise about animation creation for a game

Hi everyone! (sorry for the long post…)
This is my first post here.
First thing I wanted to say : I’m not an artist :slight_smile: but a coder. I’m using blender for about 3 years now, using it for creating and editing simple (ugly hehe) model I need for my programs.
For about 1 years I’m working on a football (soccer) game, which can be seen here :
http://open-football.sourceforge.net/

I didn’t do the last stadium model :slight_smile: The player was a swimer blender model, on which I add (uhmm…) a shirt, short, shoes… and an armature.

Now I’m working on the animation system and as you can guess, it’s the main part of football game.

Well that was to introduce myself. Now about my “questions” :
I first try to do animation my self, which was pretty good to learn how blender works, but after a walk, run, and shoot animation which was looking horrible, I start thinking that I need something else to get good animation.
I found some motion capture data (http://www.mocapdata.com) and try to use those. I have a big plan for how to use animation in the game engine. For example motion graph, with motion blending for some IK effect, and of course the famous super foot sliding (like in pes) to get something playable. Unfortunatly, I spend the last 2 month writing a tool to create motion graph from those animation (I forgot to say that I wrote an exporter for blender, which can export 3d model, animation and armature in my game), and test it on those motion capture, without getting good result… (takes too much time to edit animation in blender!)