Need help cutting off a tentacle

Hey,

I’m a fairly new noob at blender. I made a killer worm like from Dune for a movie we’re making and need to figure out how to cut off one of the tentacles. I can separate the vertices and make it a separate object, but then when I rewind it to the beginning, it starts off separated. I want to learn how to get the tentacle to be cut off in a later frame and fall to the ground. Any suggestions?

Attachments

I’ll be watching this thread, as I’m interested in finding out how to do that, too.

My best guess is that you’d have to make the part you want to cut off a separate vertex group, and then animate it as so, moving the bone away when necessary (I guess it wouldn’t be connected to the other bones). But I’m not sure, that just makes sense to me.

Hm… Is it possible to make the bone connected in the beginning, and then switch to disconnected at a set frame?

How do you do stuff like this? You cheat.

Duplicate the object, and cut it. Then hide it on a non-rendered layer until it’s time to cut the tentacle, then switch the objects.

Or, end the animation on the frame before the cut, and begin a new animation one frame later, and splice them together in the Sequence Editor.

Or, have the cut object somewhere off camera, and in between frames, move it into position, and move the uncut object off camera.

No one will ever know…

Remember, animation is a series of still renders, shown quick enough to seem to be moving. Your job is to get Blender to make that series of stills. It is not about modeling reality.

Orinoco is right. If you want to hide the transition, put a little blood spray/mist particle system at the cut point.

Still having problems getting it to work right. I split the tentacle in half, but when I try to rotate the tip (the part that got cut off) to have it fall off the screen, the body jumps to reattach itself to the tip. I just can’t get it to move independently from the main body!