Need help modeling a Lightsaber

Can anybody help me with a blender modeling a lightsaber i’m still a noob to this software i have a image of lightsaber I want to make but i can’t quite model it right tho can anybody help
o and i’m new to this forum too.

you can do most of it just using the commands: extrude ( e ) grab ( g ) and scale ( s ).

Welcome to BA.

How about showing us what you have so far.

here it is

here it is [ATTACH=CONFIG]262882[/ATTACH] sorry is i repost it again

Well it’s a start,you might want to look for more reference images since the one you posted doesn’t look like any familiar ones.Qui Gon Jinn’s lightsaber might be the best since it looks to be the easiest to model.

The web site i got it from is Wookieepeda the sith first working lightsaber http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Sith_lightsaber

It looks like you started with a cylinder, while that’s the logical place to start to a beginner and when I was a beginner in 3D I would have done the same, but IMHO the majority of the shape could be done using a curve.

Have you tried using a curve?

I would actually suggest using multiple cylinders and disks instead of trying to make it all one mesh. no need to get all complicated when you can toss a few primitives together.

If you want it detailed and polygon count doesn’t matter, subdivision polygon modeling would be suitable.
Here’s one way to look at things and start modeling. First thing to do is to get as plenty of reference images as you need, like others suggested, and examine those carefully.

A lightsaber is a mechanical item, consisting of many separate parts. It would make modeling easier and would produce better looking result if there were that division in the model too.