Need help thickening a model

I am quite new to blender and I need some help to “thicken” a model that I designed in SketchUp!. I imported the model properly into Blender but have been unable to add some heft to the lines. I tried to use the “mesh -> scripts -> solidify selection” script but that didn’t seem to do much of anything. Any help would be appreciated. I would like to add around a 1cm thickness (inward, the model is already the correct size on the outside) to it.

I have attached my .blend file. Thanks in advance for your help.

GregDDC

Attachments

lament.blend (151 KB)

can you load up a pic showing what you mean
i uploaded a pic of your model

now it is green which means it is part of a group !

SAlutations

There are lots of double vertices and unnecessary vertices and faces in this model.
This way the script has no chance to specify the inside and the outside of the mesh.

You should do a mesh cleanup first or you use just the groundplane, clean it and extrude it.

To test the script use a default cube delete one face and try the script, then you will see the thickening.

I wish I was more adept at this program so that I could follow all of this good advice. I like the idea of using the groundplane to bring up a smaller version but I cannot seem to select only those faces and points. If you are willing I would really appreciate an example .blend file so that I may learn.

Thanks again for your quick and helpful assistance.

GregDDC

In this file are two meshes, one is a clean version of your model and the other is just the groundpiece.
If you select all faces of the groundpiece in editMode, you can just do the same by pressing E, choosing Region and by pressing z you canmove the new faces along z axis.
Do it again with just selecting the outer faces and you have your model.
For the thickening you have to open your mesh.
as I didn’t know what you want to thicken, i didn’t do it.
But test it with a cube.

You should have a look in here for the basics;