Need help to set a proper scale

Hello.
I’m a Blender newbie in search for help from some more experienced Blender users. I’ve searched the internet already but didn’t find answers to all my questions, so I’m trying my luck here.

Here’s my problem.
I am currently working on a rather big terrain that needs to be exported to another program.
While I am aware that units don’t matter when you model, because everything only has to be in the right scale relative to the other objects, this causes a lot of inconvenience and loss of accuracy when exporting the heightmap to the engine it’s meant for.
When I render the heightmap in Blender, it makes the lowest point black and the highest point white,which is normal and perfectly fine. However, it also means that the information about the scale gets lost. When I import it afterwards, the engine can only assume that black is 0 meters and white is the terrains max. height, which I can configure.
I cannot know how high the highest point is, because the scales don’t match. While I could find out the factor to calculate the necessary value, this is not possible because I’m not recreating something, but creating something myself.
In other words: I don’t even know how high that mountain I’m creating is myself. At least not accurately.

In order to be able to easily tell how high a certain point is, edit accurately and export/import without screwing up the vertical scale, I want to work with the same scale in Blender.

Here is the data from/for the engine:
-Heightmap is 8192x8192 px in size
-Heightmap scale is 1:1 (terrain is 8192x8192 meters big)
-I’ll be using roughly 6x6 km from that

What I want to achieve in Blender:
-Plane that is 6144x6144 meters big
-In the end, it will be subdivided into 6144x6144 smaller parts (each part will equal 1 meter and therefore 1 pixel then)

I just can’t figure out how to do this. The view get’s clipped, the grid stays small and I’m not entirely sure if this is a good idea to begin with.