Need help with beveling

Hello,

I was working on M1911 model when I run into an issue with beveling bottom part of the gun.
I already beveled edges on X axis (marked with red arrows), but how I’m I supposed to bevel rest of the gun (marked with green lines) to get look similar to last 2 pictures.

Files:
M1911A1.blend (989.3 KB)
M1911A1.blend1 (989.3 KB)

P.S. I’m new to the blender and 3d modeling in general, so please excuse me for any of beginner mistakes and quite possibly dumb question.

Won’t bevel properly because your model has some duplicated faces and inverted normals. Those rounded parts aren’t treated as bevels when modeling.

Try this tutorial: https://www.artstation.com/learning/instructors/Alex-Medina
There’s also this one for hard surface modeling: https://www.artstation.com/learning/instructors/andrew-semyonov

My suggestion is that you start with very simple assets. This tutorial was done in 3DS Max but you can follow along in Blender: https://www.artstation.com/learning/instructors/emielsleegers

1 Like

I deleted duplicated faces with “Merge by distance” and fixed normals with “Recalculate Outside”, but I still have no idea how bevel bottom part of gun like this :arrow_down: .

Thank you for tutorial links, Tutorials seem bit lengthy I will check them tomorrow.

Use beveling for small parts, that handle need to be modeled with topology techniques. Guns looks simple, but it always has some tricky parts. That’s why I sent those tutorials. They’re more like short free courses. You’ll get an overview and absorb ways for clean and smooth topology. You could select an edge go to Edge > Bevel Edges (Ctrl+B), scroll up to add more edges, but won’t be the same curve as your reference.

2 Likes

Just found this website, has a lot of neat breakdowns about 3D modeling:

1 Like