Need help with rigging and weight painting

Hello everyone, I’m a newbie and I want to use an MMD model I found online to make a GMod playermodel. So far I’ve managed to rig it and weight paint most of the body (everything except the arms, neck and head). My problem is that no matter how I paint the elbow, wrist, finger and neck joints, they keep creating weird random figures stretching out or break down completely when I try to rotate them. Could anyone help me out? Thanks in advance. Here’s how the broken model looks https://prnt.sc/ocs6mr and how it’s supposed to look normally and what I want to weight paint completely https://prnt.sc/ocs75e

How does it deform in Blender? If it deforms well in Blender but not in Gmod, then it’s something to do with Gmod, right? (In which case, I can’t help you. But if it’s something in Blender, I probably could…)

I haven’t reached the point where I can use it in Gmod yet, I need help on making it functionally rigged in Blender, so yeah, if you can, then please

Oh, okay, I guess you’re just using some weird bone display that I haven’t seen before.

Upload a .blend someplace and let me know and I’ll look.

Here it is. I am using a ready Source playermodel bone system(?) so that the model can be used in-game

It’s just that your weights aren’t very good.

Probably one of the reasons for the poor weights is that you don’t quite understand how Blender handles weights. It lets you paint unnormalized weights, then normalizes them only at the time of deform or export.

So let me give you an example. When I travel up the back of your calf and look at the calf weights, I see that it’s weighted .768, .8, .657 to the calf-- but weighted 0 to all other bones. So when this gets normalized, all of those weights are the same: 1.0 to the calf. (Take the weight, divide by the sum of all deforming weights to get the normalized weight. You can get Blender to do this for you with weight paint’s Normalize All tool.)