Need just a little startup help or Know-How for my bachelor-graduation

Actually I am a student at Aalen University (Germany). For my final exam (bachelor-thesis) I’m working on a softwareevaluation of 3D-Programms for use in technical documentation purposes (repair-animations…). In that evaluation blender also takes part of a comparison model. But I’ve got a problem with the import. The files I get from the constructors are in the STEP-format, so blender can’t import them naturally. I tried to convert them with available programs to .obj (wavefront ) or .vrml data. Blender can import those formats, but the imported data is not useable for my animation, because parts are split up in billions of pieces or stick together as just one mesh. Is there a possibility to import the CAD-data, so that all parts are still separated?

My deadline for the evaluation is end of august and a budget is just not given, but there is no work for you to be done, except helping me with the import.

I’ve got some usecases on which I have to test blender, it would be really awesome if a professionell blender-user could pm me for some further questions. But first things first.

Thanks for your time/help!
Greetings from Germany, Fenopy.

Is there any way to get the STEP as an STL? You can enable .stl import in user preferences. I have used this feature and it works just fine. I’ve never tested it, but there is also a DXF import module you can turn on, which should be able to import autocad files.

Both of these are in File>User Prefrences. Under the Addons tab. Filter for import-export and the DXF module should be near the top of the list. STL is a little farther down. Be sure to hit Save User Settings after clicking the checkbox next to the module of your choosing. then try it out!