Need serious help with aircraft retopo

I have a model of an aircraft that I need retopologized. I’m squeaky new to modeling so I’m not too good at it yet. The model has horrible geometry (not mine) and I need help. This is for a short project for my school. Any help would be great.

What aircraft is it? And what is your deadline?
I haven’t done much blender modeling but I’ve made a lot of airplanes in other programs.
You may have better luck just rebuilding it using the original as a guide.
Witold Jaworski wrote a good book about aircraft modeling for blender 2.79 http://airplanes3d.net/index_e.html

Will it need rigged unwrapped and textured as well? Or do you just need the topology cleaned up? Also as stated above, what is the timeline to get it done and what type of aircraft is it? How heavy poly are you also needing?

Here’s a zip of the file. It’s a doozy :neutral_face:

1 Like

I have a soft deadline of the 16th of August.

It’s a B-52H Stratofortress. Here’s the link. https://drive.google.com/file/d/11ATOqkdLvqwKug_acxOuxAX0CrM1itB5/view?usp=sharing

Yeah that is a little more time consuming than I currently have the time to really dive into. Thank you for posting the file to let us see before jumping into the deep end on something that might take a little longer than expected. I am sure that someone else that is a hard surface wizard would be able to do in a timely manner. Thanks again for the heads up.

Yeah it’s a bit of a mess. It was probably converted from some other program. It has a lot of details and it’s a big bird anyway. How many shots is it supposed to be in? Close or medium shots? What parts need to move? Is it supposed to be in flight or on the ground? Also what year is it supposed to be in?

I only needed it retopo’d. I was going to texture it and animate it kind of like a car commercial.

No problem :joy:

I’ll do what I can to clean it up. It is kinda of a dogs breakfast. It has a lot of detail. It also has a lot of useless polygons.