Need some advice and encouragement

I’ve been using Blender off and on for a couple years, but all together probably only have a handful of hours actually doing anything. Mainly the ‘job and 3 kids’ thing takes up most of my time. But, my 2yr old son is getting easier to handle and i’m finding myself with more time to sit at the computer.

What im having trouble with now is just exactly what direction to go as far as learning Blender properly. I’ve started untold number of projects, and never finished for various reasons. Mainly because of time and trying to model things i’m not skilled enough to tackle yet.

Im curious how others here went about learning.
I have a pretty good grasp of the interface, and generally understand how to push around pixels and so on. I guess i’m looking for some structured way to pursue bettering my skills.

The company I work for sells a line of products that can be tailored to a customers preference. That is, we can make them an item from scratch. One of the sales guys was pitching a design to a ‘Big’ restaurant chain and found out I was learning to model so he had me model it from his sketches. It’s a simple shape and I made and AVI of it spinning. They actually sent it to the customer to see and are gonna pay me for my work. YIKES!!

They said they would have some more projects for me soon, so I need to get busy. And yes, they know i’m a beginner.

Anyway, I know a lot of you here are putting out some fantastic stuff, just like to know how you guys went about the learning process.

Congrats on your first professional Blender “gig”? (Why not post the image in the finished projects section ?)

I guess you shoudl base what you’re interested in learning (first :slight_smile:everything would be nice but …) on what you’re interested in doing with the program.