Need some advice on Normal maps...

I hope somebody can answer this “slow brain” a question.

http://i84.photobucket.com/albums/k31/Julius_Sneezer/bridge2.jpg

I built this bridge and since I’m still new to Blender(Not an expert, but have been following every tutorial I can get my hands on).

I see people’s scenes and see incredible detail, like trillions of polygons or something.
Do people really use trillions of polygons? My computer wouldn’t be able to handle that many and besides editing to see what something looks like after one 12 hour render would take 100 years.

My bridge had very few polygons, I cleaned it up some and got it later down to 40,000 polygons. But I tried to add rivets to it. Once you add detail polygons the polygon count goes way up! It could turn into several million polygons. So I figured why not use normal maps for all of the rivets on the bridge? I did that, but after about 80 time consuming normal maps created this one model could take forever. So I said to myself, Is this what everybody else does?
Hundreds of normal maps per model? Can somebody give me just a little advice on how better to rivet my girders on my bridge?

Well, usually you bake your own normal maps for stuff like this. The normal workflow would be to make a Highpoly Scene, then bake the normalmaps, make a lowpoly scene and apply them. Some make it the other way round, make the low poly first and then apply additional detail which is IMO not that good for reasons not relevant to this topic.

However either way you will end up with a good truckload of polys and there is no sense in making normal maps for you because you want to render a still for what i understand and not use the model in a realtime engine where you need low poly count. Normalmapping is mostly meant to improve realtime performance, although it can improve rendertime as well ^^