Need some help with character action animation

Heya everyone. :slight_smile:

I’m a game design student from germany, currently despairing on his semester project.
I’m working on a litte protogame in blender where you can navigate a character through a level, however…

I’m stuck. :frowning: Even though I did everything like in the tutorial, my character won’t even play the (admittedly very simplicistic) idle action. I’ve rigged him and created a short idle loop, and linked it to the logic bricks. My teacher and the blender-pro in our college both already looked at my problem and couldn’t help me either. “It ought to work” was all they said. :no:

Maybe someone here could help me with this problem?
I’d attach the file, but it’s 700kb too big. Stupid upload limit :spin:.
I’ll just attach a screenshot istead. Maybe the problem is obvious to someone who knows where to look.
If not, I’ll just mail the file to anyone who wants to help me.

If any could help me with this, I’d be most grateful!:yes:

Attachments

Hi Kira,
The upload limit is for 900 or so Kb, I just uploaded a 700 Kb file myself. It will take a few minutes to upload though, for me it was about two. I personally cannot tell why it won’t work from the picture.

you can upload it to mediafire.com if you want and send me the link and I can help you

Hello
don’t use “Armature” modifiers or other fancy methods…
You must assign Vertex Groups to your bones…
And lower the bones count, maybe…
Bye

I had the same problem recently. I don’t know how to do this in 2.49 but in the new version, version 2.5, you just go to the object buttons, set the parent type from object to armature and then go to the modifiers and delete the armature modifier. If anyone knows how to do this on 2.49 please explain. Good Luck!! :slight_smile:

911:
Okay, I’ll do that tonight. Currently at college, and the internet here is sort of… fishy. :spin:

Besides that, the animation works if I play it in-program. It just won’t work in-game.