Nessie (loch ness "monster")

I am just getting into organic modeling, and I decided to do Nessie for my first attempt. I got the idea because someone else is making a nessie-ish creature, and because I love nessie. ( I can’t wait for the movie! :eyebrowlift: ) I know I need to add more fins, I will get onto that eventually. Since there isn’t exactly real reference images, I’m going with a more generic aspect portion-wise. Does the body seem to fat, is the tail to big or too long? What about the neck?
http://web.mac.com/lipton_lover/blender/Blank_files/nessie2.jpg
http://web.mac.com/lipton_lover/blender/Blank_files/nessie1.jpg

I think the body is fine and the tail sould probubly be thicker and maybe longer.

thx :slight_smile: what do I do about the face though? I’m new to organic modeling so I only have this basic shape… Should I just ignore it? I could probably get away with that…

i would suggest making the arm flipper things flow more and not just look like they stick out strait from inside the body, if you know what i mean.

I added two front flippers, changed the body a little, and I rigged nessie. Thankfully the rigging worked for once so I will fool around with that to get the proper fin position… but now I want to get the right water texture, (any suggestions on how to do water?) and I need some land. I’m doing a night scene to make use of the star generator, so I don’t think nessie needs much if any more detail, she will probably just be a shadow. The fins probably won’t even be visible at all, I’m only doing them for personal satisfaction. I will post an image shortly.

Here is my finished? product… anyone have ideas/suggestions for improvement? Is it good enough to pass off as real? Seriously though… I want to pretend for a little that this is a real sighting by posting it at some forum and see that way if it’s real enough but I want it to be as perfect as possible beforehand so please tell me. c&c’s welcome of course!